> Home /

Team Harley Davidson won the Masters Division (35 years +) Championship at this weekend’s MD State Lacrosse Games tournament run by Jim Huelskamp.  Team Harley had already blown through their first 3 games, including a semi-final win over Mr. Boh, to setup a championship match up with Koopers.  Many expected Koopers to give them a much tougher match up than the previous 3 games.  Harley attackman Rob Bates (2 goals) opened the scoring with a nifty inside move.  Koopers quickly retaliated to tie the game at 1-1.  Harley scored to go up 2-1 before the 1st quarter ended.  After a long scoring drought, Koopers scored the first goal of the second quareter to even the game at 2 goals apiece.  Harley then responded with 2 goals including an outside man-up rip from Scott Joyner (3 goals).  The first half ended with Team Harley up 4-2. The game was hard hitting throughout on both sides.  Harley extended their suffocating defense that they showed throughout the tournament.

Harley quickly pulled away in the 2nd half with 3 straight goals.  Koopers added one to pull within four goals going into the 4th quarter.  Harley’s defense shut out Koopers in the 4th quarter and added three goals of their own including one from defenseman Cort Sandstrom.  Harley goalies Rodney Rullman and Chris Mitzel played great throughout.  Rullman turned away a barrage of shots early in the 1st quarter, and Mitzel limited Koopers to just one 2nd half goal.  The 10-3 Harley victory was another in a long history of titles for this team that rarely loses.  This team is largely a carry-over from the former dominate Toyota masters team.  Baltimore area club legends like Mark Hahn, Mark Hoffman, Glenn Norris, and Cort Sandstrom all added another club championship to their resumes.

e-Lacrosse Blogs
Check below to see what's happening on the e-Lacrosse Blog Network